Tours en l'air organizes ballet-themed escorted holidays to see the best companies perform great ballets in beautiful places. You can join a trip from anywhere. A highly knowledgeable balletomane who has enjoyed 100s of performances in over 20 cities around the world,I speak English, French, and German, and am a Travel Industry Council of Ontario certified Travel Counsellor. I also teach ballet appreciation courses. Twitter: @thewordlady Facebook:
Tours en l'air Ballet Holidays are offered in partnership with CWT Victor Travel, 101 - 8800 Dufferin Street, Concord, ON L4K 0C5, 416-736-6010, TICO # 1892647


Privacy policy: we will not sell, rent, or give your name or address to anyone. You can unsubscribe at any point.

Subscribe to E-newsletter

Monday, October 7, 2013

National Ballet of Canada announces 3 World Premieres

Four Canadian Choreographers
Three World Premieres Plus a New Work
The National Ballet of Canada’s Innovation series features three world premieres that will debut November 22, 2013, along with a piece by Choreographic Associate Guillaume Côté. José Navas, a Venezuelan born choreographer who now works in Montréal, created his piece in August;  and Choreographic Associate Robert Binet, in September. Former Artistic Director James Kudelka is currently working on his creation in the studio with the dancers.
Watershed – A World Premiere by José Navas
“I’ve long been interested in Benjamin Britten’s works and life. When I first heard Four Sea Interludes, I knew I wanted to use a big group of dancers and I wanted the work to be on pointe – perfect for the National Ballet’s amazing artists. I hope I can emulate in my choreography what Britten did in music – to make it formal and structural, but also emotional and true.” - José Navas
Choreography: José Navas
Music: Benjamin Britten, Peter Grimes, Op. 33 – Four Sea Interludes Op. 33a
Costume Design: Sonya Bayer
Lighting Design: James F. Ingalls
Being and Nothingness (Part 1) by Guillaume Côté
“The music of Philip Glass has always fascinated me. Its repetitive structure is somewhat hypnotic and evolves in seamless ways. This particular section of Being and Nothingness is based on a concept called “The Great Human Stream" explored in Jean-Paul Sartre’s book. The Great Human Stream arises from a singular realization that nothingness is a state of mind in which we can become anything that we desire. Glass's Metamorphosis is the perfect musical reflection of this theme, filled with emotional weight. It provides a lot of room for telling the story of someone coming to terms with their own ‘nothingness’.” - Guillaume Côté
Choreography: Guillaume Côté
Music: Philip Glass
Costume Design: Krista Dowson
Lighting Design: James F. Ingalls
Unearth - A World Premiere by Robert Binet
“I love Owen Pallett’s music and I always thought, ‘one day…’ So when Karen Kain asked me to create a new work, I contacted him. Even though it’s his first composition for dance he understands the energy, colour and rhythm of ballet and also the needs of the dancers.” - Robert Binet
Choreography: Robert Binet
Original Music: Owen Pallett
Set and Costume Design: Hyemi Shin
Lighting Design: James F. Ingalls night's bright day... - A World Premiere by James Kudelka
“I have known Pergolesi's Stabat Mater for some time, having seen a work done to the first section of it in the 1970s. It a very beautiful piece of musical composition to listen to although it is about a very tragic subject - the loss of a dear one in horrible and unjust circumstances. Sometimes we have to make difficult subjects beautiful in order to be able to look at them.” - James Kudelka
Choreography: James Kudelka, O.C.
Music: Giovanni Battista Pergolesi, Stabat Mater
Costume Design: Jim Searle and Chris Tyrell for Hoax Couture
Lighting Design: James F. Ingalls

If you love ballet, please check out my season of outstanding ballet trips by clicking here.


Use the buttons below to share this post on facebook, twitter, by email, or other social media.
You can sign up to have my ballet updates delivered directly to your inbox here.

No comments:

Post a Comment